Living Members of the Baseball Hall of Fame

The Baseball Hall of Fame can include players, managers, umpires, and executives (Most managers were former players and many players later become managers, but they are usually voted into the Hall as one or the other, as their career merits). The Baseball Writers' Association of America (BBWAA) has the primary responsibility for selecting which players will be in the Hall of Fame.

Players who are no longer under consideration by the baseball writers can be elected by a panel of living Hall of Fame members after first being nominated by a committee. The Hall of Fame Board of Directors frequently reorganizes this process and renames the nominating committee or committees. The process is commonly referred to as the Veterans Committee, a shorthand version of the name it used from 1953 to 1999. The veterans committee is viewed by many as a "back door" into the Hall and, therefore, it is considered more prestigious to be inducted by the baseball writers. The veterans committee is also responsible for inducting non-players, including managers, executives, and umpires.

The list below gives each living Hall member, in order of date of birth. It also indicates how each member was inducted. No designation means "player inducted by the baseball writers."

RankNameBornML Playing CareerInduction
1Tommy Lasorda9/22/19271954-561997 VC (manager)
2Whitey Ford10/21/19281950, 1953-671974 
3Willie Mays5/6/19311951-731979 
4Whitey Herzog11/9/19311956-632010 VC (manager)
5Hank Aaron2/5/19341954-761982 
6Luis Aparicio4/29/19341956-731984 
7Bud Selig7/30/1934N/A2017 VC (executive)
8Bob Gibson11/9/19351959-751981 
9Sandy Koufax12/30/19351955-661972 
10Bill Mazeroski9/5/19361956-722001 VC 
11Brooks Robinson5/18/19371955-771983 
12Pat Gillick8/22/1937N/A2011 VC (executive)
13Orlando Cepeda9/17/19371958-741999 VC 
14Juan Marichal10/20/19371960-751983 
15Billy Williams6/15/19381959-761987 
16Gaylord Perry9/15/19381962-831991 
17Phil Niekro4/1/19391964-871997 
18Lou Brock6/18/19391961-791985 
19Carl Yastrzemski8/22/19391961-831989 
20Joe Torre7/18/19401960-772014 VC (manager)
21John Schuerholz10/1/1940N/A2017 VC (executive)
22Bobby Cox5/21/19411968-692014 VC (manager)
23Tony Perez5/14/19421964-862000 
24Joe Morgan9/19/19431963-841990 
25Ferguson Jenkins12/13/19431965-831991 
26Tony La Russa10/4/19441963, 1968-732014 VC (manager)
27Tom Seaver11/17/19441967-861992 
28Steve Carlton12/22/19441965-881994 
29Don Sutton4/2/19451966-881998 
30Rod Carew10/1/19451967-851991 
31Jim Palmer10/15/19451965-841990 
32Reggie Jackson5/18/19461967-871993 
33Rollie Fingers8/25/19461968-851992 
34Nolan Ryan1/31/19471966-931999 
35Johnny Bench12/7/19471967-831989 
36Carlton Fisk12/26/19471969, 1970-932000 
37Mike Schmidt9/27/19491972-891995 
38Bert Blyleven4/6/19511970-922011 
39Goose Gossage7/5/19511972-89, 1991-942008 
40Dave Winfield10/3/19511973-88, 1990-952001 
41Bruce Sutter1/8/19531976-86, 19882006 
42Jim Rice 3/8/19531974-892009 
43George Brett5/15/19531973-931999 
44Andre Dawson7/10/19541976-962010 
45Dennis Eckersley10/3/19541975-982004 
46Ozzie Smith12/26/19541978-962002 
47Jack Morris5/16/19551977-942018 VC 
48Robin Yount9/16/19551974-931999 
49Eddie Murray2/24/19561977-972003 
50Paul Molitor8/22/19561978-982004 
51Lee Smith12/4/19571980-972019 VC 
52Alan Trammell2/21/19581977-962018 VC 
53Wade Boggs6/15/19581982-992005 
54Rickey Henderson12/25/19581979-20032009 
55Harold Baines3/15/19591980-20012019 VC 
56Tim Raines9/16/19591979-20022017 
57Ryne Sandberg9/18/19591981-94, 1996-972005 
58Cal Ripken Jr.8/24/19601981-20012007 
59Edgar Martinez1/2/19631987-20042019 
60Randy Johnson9/10/19631988-20092015 
61Barry Larkin4/28/19641986-20042012 
62Craig Biggio12/14/19651998-20072015 
63Tom Glavine3/25/19661987-20082014 
64Greg Maddux4/14/19661986-20082014 
65John Smoltz5/15/19671998-20092015 
66Trevor Hoffman10/13/19671993-20102018 
67Roberto Alomar2/5/19681988-20042011 
68Jeff Bagwell5/27/19681991-20052017 
69Frank Thomas5/27/19681990-20082014 
70Mike Piazza9/4/19681992-20072016 
71Mike Mussina12/8/19681991-20082019 
72Ken Griffey Jr.11/21/19691989-20102016 
73Mariano Rivera11/29/19691995-20132019 
74Jim Thome8/27/19701991-20122018 
75Pedro Martinez10/25/19711992-20092015 
76Ivan Rodriguez11/27/19711991-20112017 
77Chipper Jones4/24/19721993, 1995-20122018 
78Vladimir Guerrero2/9/19751996-20112018 

Recent Deaths

Al Kaline
Frank Robinson
Willie McCovey

Links of interest:
  Baseball Hall of Fame
  Hall of Fame Graves
Copyright © 1997-2020 by David Carson. Who's Alive and Who's Dead is brought to you by Living Water Specialties.